Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

mark of origin tea board kenya

Tea Growing Counties in Kenya

Regionally, tea is grown in two significant geographical areas namely the East of the Rift block and the West of the Rift block.

The East region is predominantly mountainous consisting of Mt Kenya, the Aberdares ranges and the Nyambene hills while the West of the Rift is characterized by plains and undulating hills which include Kericho, Kisii and the Nandi areas.

The counties that comprise of West and East blocks include Nandi, Trans Nzoia, E. Marakwet, Kakamega, Vihiga, Kericho, Bomet, Kisii, Nyamira, Narok, Nakuru, Kiambu, Muranga, Nyeri, Kirinyaga, Embu, Tharaka Nithi and Meru as illustrated by the tea map below.

Tea Growing Counties in Kenya
  • Nakuru
  • Narok
  • Kericho
  • Bomet
  • Nyamira
  • Kisii
  • Kakamega
  • Bungoma
  • Vihiga
  • Nandi
  • Elgeyo Marakwet
  • Trans-Nzoia
  • Kiambu
  • Murang’a
  • Nyeri
  • Kirinyaga
  • Embu
  • Tharaka-Nithi
  • Meru.
Tea Board of Kenya Map
Tea Board House
Naivasha Road, Off Ngong Rd
P.O. Box 20064 – 00200 NAIROBI
HOTLINE: +254 703 333 777
TEL:  +254 734 600 944
+254 722 200 556